Technical Support Unit

c/o Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency
P.O. Box 303
NL-3720 AH Bilthoven
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (0) 70 328 87 20
Fax: +31 (0) 70 328 87 99

Authors and Review Editors

The IPCC Chair leads a Core Writing Team whose composition was agreed by the 45th Session of the IPCC Bureau, Geneva, 13-14 March 2012. The team consists of authors of the three Working Group report writing teams and members of the Executive Committee.

The Synthesis Report Team consists of Core Writing Team members, Extended Core Writing Team Members, and Review Editors.

Core Writing Team Members of Working Group 1

photo - john church2 photo - piers forster photo - friedlingstein
John Church
Commonwealth Scientific and
Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Piers Forster
University of Leeds
United Kingdom
Pierre Friedlingstein
University of Exeter
United Kingdom



photo - jan fuglestvedt   photo - gabi hegerl  photo-kattsov
Jan Fuglestvedt
Center for International Climate and
Environmental Research - Oslo (CICERO)
Gabriele Hegerl
University of Edinburgh
United Kingdom
Vladimir Kattsov
Voeikov Main Geophysical Observatory
(MGO), St.Petersburg
Russian Federation
 photo - marotzke  photo-scott power  photo - rusticucci
Jochem Marotzke
Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Scott Power
Australian Bureau of Meteorology
Matilde Rusticucci    
University of Buenos Aires






Myles Allen
University of Oxford
United Kingdom


Core Writing Team Members of Working Group 2

 photo-blanca  purnamita photo  phoyo hallegatte identit credit
Blanca Jimenez Cisneros

Purnamita Dasgupta
Institute of Economic Growth (IEG), 
University of Delhi Enclave

Stephane Hallegatte
World Bank
United States of America

 photo - howden  photo - karen obrien  photo-joy pereira 2012
Mark Howden
Commonwealth Scientific and
Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Karen O'Brien
Department of Sociology and Human
Geography, The University of Oslo
Joy J.Pereira
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
 photo poertner  photo-preston  photo - andy reisinger
Hans-Otto Pörtner
Alfred Wegener Institute für
Polar- und Meerforschung
Benjamin Preston
Oak Ridge National Lab
United States of America
Andy Reisinger
NZ Agricultural Greenhouse
Gas Research Centre
New Zealand
 photo - bob scholes    Petra Tschakert
Robert Scholes
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
South Africa
Michael Oppenheimer
Princeton University
United States of America
Petra Tschakert
Pennsylvania State University
United States of America
photo Mike Photo-Mach2
Michael Mastrandrea
IPCC Working Group II TSU
United States of America
Katharine Mach
WG II TSU Co-Director of Science
United States of America


Core Writing Team Members of Working Group 3

image broome image clarke image dubash
John Broome
White's Professor of Moral Philosophy,
University of Oxford
United Kingdom
Leon Clarke
Joint Global Change Research Institute
United States of America
Navroz K. Dubash
Centre for Policy Research,
New Dehli
 photo - Luis Gomez-Echeverri photo Seyboth   photo Kejun
Luis Gomez-Echeverri
International Institute for
Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Kristin Seyboth
IPCC Working Group III
Kejun Jiang
Energy Research Institute
 photo - ravindranath image stavins  
.H. Ravindranath
Indian Institute of Science
Robert Stavins
Environmental Economics Program and
Environment and Natural Resources Faculty Group, Harvard University
United States of America
Yacob Mulugetta
Centre for Environmental Strategy
University of Surrey
United Kingdom
Detlef van Vuuren
Copernicus Institute for Sustainable Development at Utrecht University,
PBL Netherlands Environmental Assassment Agency
The Netherlands
Keywan Riahi
IIASA, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis


Core Writing Team Members of the Executive Committee

Dr R K Pachauri photo-el-guizouli photo-lee photo-van-ypersele
R. K. Pachauri
Chair Writing team
Ismail Elgizouli
IPCC Vice-Chair
Hoesung Lee
IPCC Vice-Chair
Jean-Pascal van Ypersele
IPCC Vice-Chair


 Working Group I


 photo-qin-dahe thomasstocker  giankasperplattner


Qin Dahe
WG I Co-Chair
Thomas Stocker
WG I Co-Chair
Gian-Kasper Plattner
WG I TSU Director Science


Working Group II


photo-barros photo - chris field


Vicente Barros
WG II Co-Chair
Chris Field
WG II Co-Chair



Working Group III


photo-edenhofer  photo-pichs  image sokona image minx
Ottmar Edenhofer
WG III Co-Chair
Ramón Pichs-Madruga
WG III Co-Chair
Youba Sokona
WG III Co-Chair
Jan Minx
Secretariat TSU SYR
image-renate Leo Meyer
Renate Christ
Secretary of the IPCC
Leo Meyer


Extended Core Writing Team Members

Jae Edmonds
Joint Global Change Research Institute at the University of Maryland
United States of America
Reyer Gerlagh
Tilburg University
The Netherlands
Howard Kunreuther
Wharton School
United States of America
     photo - yohe
Ralph Sims
Massey University
New Zealand
Diana Ürge-Vorsatz
Central European University
 Gary Yohe
Wesleyan University
United States of America
image fleurbaey  Photo - david victor 10 22 10  Photo Blanco 
Marc Fleurbaey
Public Affairs and
the Center for Human Values,
Princeton University
United States of America
David G. Victor
Laboratory on International Law and Regulation University of California
United States of America
Gabriel Blanco
Universidad Nacional del Centro de la Provincia de Buenos Aires

 Sivan Kartha

Sivan Kartha
Stockholm Environment Institute
United States of America
Wolfgang Cramer
imbe, Mediterranean Institute of marine and terrestrial Biodiversity and Ecology


Review Editors

Thomas E Downing
Global Climate Adaptation Partnership
United Kingdom
Jim Skea
Centre for Environmental Policy, Imperial College London
United Kingdom
Wenying Chen
Tsinghua University
Fredolin Tangang
National University of Malaysia
Jean Palutikof
National Climate Change Adaptation Research Facility Griffith University
Xiao-Ye Zhang
Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences
Paulina Aldunce
University of Chile
Sylvie Joussaume
National Center for Scientific Research
Kanako Tanaka
Japan Science and Technology Agency
Photo Zbyszek 
Zbigniew Kundzewicz
Institute for Agricultural and Forest Environment, Polish Academy of Sciences